Standing Your Ground in America’s Go-Go Culture

Just yesterday, I saw Halloween costumes at my local Costco and my jaw dropped. I didn’t know the date because nobody does during summer vacation, but I knew that it was sometime in the middle of August. Not October 31.

If it was October 31, I’d be Googling my polling location whilst in a flapper getup. If it was October 31, I’d already be a legal adult. If it was October 31, I’d see Halloween decorations dotting my neighborhood.

Reality check: I haven’t received my voter notification card yet and I’ve never worn heels in my life so I haven’t even put my flapper costume together yet. I’m not a legal adult. Dying grass and voluptuous weeds are the only decorations dotting my neighborhood.

America operates on a constant go-go culture and it’s so easy to get swept up into. It’s hard to stand your ground.

I’m a minority when I say I’ve never dated in my life. I’m a minority when I say I’ve never been near a drop of alcohol. I’m a minority when I say I don’t use Facebook, Twitter, Snapchat, Instagram, and whatever else people my age are using. (I don’t even know what half of those things do.)

I’m happy with the way I lead my life. I don’t want to date, I don’t want to drink, and I don’t want to get sucked into social networking. However, everything around me tells me I should be doing those things. I should have seen someone other than myself naked, I should have raided dad’s wallet to pay for the champagne, why yes this is a P!nk reference, and I should have uploaded pictures of me on the Internet at some point. But that would mean forsaking my family values and personal virtues.

It’s not worth it.

Of course, this isn’t to say it’s particularly easy to purposefully evade hallmark aspects of American culture. I’ll never quite fit in as a result of my choices.

It’s worth it.

-Live boundless.

One thought on “Standing Your Ground in America’s Go-Go Culture

Join the conversation!

