To Take Back a Self-Deprecating Joke: Part 2

As the title states, this post is a continuation of an older one which will provide some context. If you haven’t read it, feel free to take a look at it here, but I’ll give a quick summary here just in case.

I visited a receptionist at a beauty parlor (they do facials, laser hair removals, etc.) and joked to the receptionist that I probably looked awkward when I spoke because of my recent jaw surgery (I wasn’t used to speaking freely.) She laughed for a second, then paused, and asserted that I didn’t look awkward.

I’ve been thinking through her reaction and I figured out that there’s a difference between self-deprecation and laughing at yourself.

Self-deprecation is isolating a trait or experience of yours and actively portraying it in a negative light.

Laughing at yourself is forgiving a trait or experience that you perceive as negative and turning it into something positive.

This is not to say that laughing at yourself or self-deprecating jokes are good or bad. I just think it’s important to be aware of the distinction between the two as you live your life. It sounds cliché but life really is what you make it. Forgetting that your grandparents came with you to church not that I’ve ever done that or anything can become a point of questioning your memory or laughing at the fact that you remember your favorite KPOP dances better than who got in the van with you.

~Live boundless.

P.S. What do you lovelies think? Am I right? Am I way off the mark? Let me know in the comments below!

Join the conversation!

