Three Day Quote Challenge: Finale

Hello lovelies! Today is the final day of my three day quote challenge and, just in case you missed the past two days, I’m linking them below! I’m going to change my approach in this installment and list the sources of the quotes in the same post.

img_1034

Three Day Quote Challenge: Day 2
Three Day Quote Challenge Day 1
I’d like to thank meetmeinnevada one last time for giving me this wonderful opportunity and allowing me to use her photos in this series.

As a quick refresher, yesterday’s quotes were…

“If you’re going through hell, keep going.”

This one is straight out of the mouth of the ultra-badass Winston Churchill.

“No one can make you feel inferior without your consent.”

We have Eleanor Roosevelt to thank for this anti-bullying rhetoric.

“Always remember there’s a little girl inside of you; treat her as if you just met her today.”

Demi Lovato tweeted (is tweeted a proper noun?) this touching message that, I think, should be applied to life everyday no matter what happens. The moment you talk down to yourself and teach yourself it’s acceptable to demean yourself, you have truly lost.


Now…the grand finale!

“I have found that if you love life, life will love you back.” – Arthur Rubinstein

I saw this one posted on my high school precalculus teacher’s door and it always moved me walking into her classroom each day. “That’s just so true,” I’d think to myself. And not just because we have God on our side, but also because when you look at life with a positive point of view, you wind up finding positivity in nearly everything if you apply yourself.

“You either beat the surgery or let the surgery beat you.” – Male Medical Assistant

A few weeks before I got my surgery, the medical assistant told my family and I this. He was stressing the importance of me doing as much as possible after my surgery even though all I was technically capable of doing consisted of walking down the hallway with help from a family member. Within a week, I was back to my full strength.

Let’s get something straight: upper and lower jaw surgery is brutal. Your mouth is wired completely shut for a week rendering you completely unable to speak or eat like a normal human being. “Eating” consists of sticking a Foley catheter attached to a syringe in the crevice between the side of your mouth and your teeth and squeezing out various room temperature liquids. You don’t swallow by the way. You let the liquid run down your throat. Getting un-wired was quite literally the most freeing thing I’ve ever experienced in my entire life. However, I couldn’t chew anything for the next six weeks so eating consisted of swallowing various types of mush.

Whew! Sorry this was so long! I’ve been toying with the idea of making a blog post about my recovery, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet. Keep your eyes peeled though. 😉

“If you have nothing to be grateful for, check your pulse.” – Unknown

This one is very near and dear to my heart because, frankly, I’m obsessed with waking up in the morning. I love my life and everything about it and I always try to take a moment each day, even if it’s just a moment, to think about how blessed I am to be where I am. Honestly, the thing I’m most grateful for is simply to be alive. Being alive gives me power, being alive gives me opportunity, being alive gives me happiness. And that’s enough to drive me down whichever path I end up taking into adulthood.

Final Three Nominees

Fauxcroft

Dreamer on a Cloud

mySestina

What do you lovelies think of the quotes this time around? What do they mean to you? How do you see yourselves applying them to your life, if at all?

~Live boundless.

4 thoughts on “Three Day Quote Challenge: Finale

Join the conversation!

