The Most Beautiful Moment in Life: Break-Up

Where to begin? I want to tell you lovelies something I’ve only told one person as of a few days ago. As I type this, my fingers freeze up; not willing to transpose the thoughts in my head. But I’m going to tell you what’s in my head even if it takes me all day.

As I have mentioned before, I had a painful split with my soul sister this past year. I initiated it. I purposely kept the reason I broke off with her under wraps because it hurt me too much to revisit that moment. So here it is…

I told her I couldn’t do it anymore, I couldn’t maintain my long-distance relationship with her if she’d never answer any of my phone calls or text messages. She told me she wouldn’t argue with me and she’d leave if that’s what’d make me happy. I never said “good-bye,” I simply deleted all of her contact information off my phone. Needless to say, I didn’t sleep well that night.

The reason I’m telling you this story now is that I’ve finally come to a revelation: I shouldn’t be haunted by her leaving. She did want I wanted her to, I did what I needed to do, our relationship was that intimate that I could tell her it was over and she didn’t even question it. I believe that moment is worthy of the title “the most beautiful moment in life.Beauty doesn’t always mean happiness. Sometimes, beauty is simply making the most of a situation.

I shouldn’t be sorrowful that our relationship ended, I should be grateful that it happened because she taught me how to love again. And maybe one day…I can use what I learned with someone who’ll stay.

Before I conclude this post, I want to extend a huge thank you to Zee for listening to me. She’s the sole reason that I had the strength to write this post. I strongly encourage you lovelies to stop by her blog, she’s a great inspiration to me both in writing and as a person.

~Live boundless.

19 thoughts on “The Most Beautiful Moment in Life: Break-Up

  1. A lot of people have come and go in my life and at times I was not very mature about it all. I don’t regret that the friendship ended, but I do regret how it ended. I have a hard time being the bigger person and get lost in all the petty. This was a good post.

    Like

  2. That was brave of you to sure and it’s good you feel ready to do so. I liked this: Beauty doesn’t always mean happiness. Sometimes, beauty is simply making the most of a situation.

    Like

  3. “Sometimes beauty is simply making the most out of a situation”, what a deeply meaningful line ! When one of my best friend’s and I had a falling out it hurt me too but now that I look back I can totally see the bigger picture and the thing you said about finding beauty in such moments is so essential. There was a post I wrote a while back “Feel darling, feel” and in the end I shared a quote by one of my favourite poets Christopher Poindexter: The purpose of life is not to just be happy. The purpose of life, my love is to feel. You must understand that your pain, is essential.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Very true, I couldn’t put it better myself. Unfortunately there was a point in my life where I didn’t understand that pain is essential and I tried to numb it but it just made things worse. Whatever you do, don’t block your emotions.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I did the same. Numbing part. But that only made it worse. You can keep avoiding stuff but it doesn’t make it magically disappear…

        Like

      • The thing is you lose touch with your emotions and, the moment you stop numbing them, it’s like all hell breaks loose. You have to learn how to cope with everything and it’s not easy at all when you’ve been out of the game for a few years.

        Like

Join the conversation!

