{Update:} DIY Bottle Cap Pendant

Originally when I made this tutorial, it involved gluing down a lark’s knot. Upon randomly browsing through Amazon, I encountered a listing for 100 split rings for $1.99 and couldn’t help but feel I’d seen them somewhere before. Then, I realized they were the metal ring usually used to hold keys and such. I was inspired and decided to re-do this tutorial.

No cabochon or crazy wire forms necessary! (Mouse over images for captions.)

Materials:

  1. E6000 industrial strength glue
  2. Small fabric flower
  3. A photo sleeve (found in scrapbooks)
  4. Flattened out bottle cap or something similar
  5. Leather cord
  6. Scissors
  7. Power drill
  8. Split ring (the metal ring you put your keys on)

Step 1:

I tore the fabric flower off a hair clip and glued it down with the E6000 glue. At this point, I realized I had no way of making or finding a cabochon large enough to fit in the pendant so I got creative. I cut out a photo sleeve from an unused scrapbook and glued that down on top of the flower after cutting it to size.

Step 2:

(I apologize for the lack of a photo for Step 1.) This is where you want to drill the hole for the split ring. Mind you, this can be quite a strenuous task. I had to get my brother to help me because, apparently, the locket was made of diamonds or something…he had the drill on the highest setting and torque and it still took him two minutes to drill this teeny tiny hole.

Step 3:

Hang it on a chain of your choice.

finallocketphoto

There you have it! An extremely affordable and easy-to-make locket! As always, let me know in the comments below if you have any questions and send me your creations! I’d love to see what you lovelies come up with.

-Live boundless.

19 thoughts on “{Update:} DIY Bottle Cap Pendant

    • I can’t make cakes either! And actually I really struggled with this locket too. The one thing that doesn’t show up in my tutorials is how many times I failed. But I don’t see it as failing. I see it as finding another way that doesn’t work (yes like the Thomas Edison quote.) And that’s just as exciting as finding a way that does work!

      Like

Join the conversation!

