Meditation Journal Entry #3: My Choice

Today in my psychology class, my teacher touched on a term called “agency” which is basically the belief that you have control over the outcomes of your life.Β This wouldn’t be the first time I’ve heard about this concept but it’s relevant enough to my life, and life in general, that I want to write about it!

When I sign off with “live boundless,” that power that we have over our lives is exactly what I’m talking about. You actually have a lot more choice and say in things than you may realize. Sometimes these choices may seem arbitrary or irrelevant, but I found that building my confidence through a series of small choices helped me build up the courage to make the big ones.

I used to be notoriously indecisive as a child never quite able to make up my mind or commit to anything for fear of bad outcomes. I know now how to adequately plan and conduct cost-benefit analyses as well as honor my own limitations. But I didn’t always know how to do those things.

img_1301

I choose not to stay in bed and hide.

I choose to climb out of my sanctuary and take a leap in hopes of flight.

I choose not to rely on coffee beans to face the day.

I choose my inner crazy.

I choose not to ditch my education and go party.

I choose to sit in class and learn.

I choose not to be ashamed that I only have one friend.

I choose to make the most of my time with her.

I choose not to stay silent in the wake of my mistakes.

I choose to face my failures head-on and make plans for the future.

I choose not to skip homework even though it isn’t graded.

I choose to have honor and read what the professor asks me to.

I choose not to give up on my family, friends, and health at the same time.

I choose to maintain a work-life balance.

I choose not to give up until I have the answers.

I choose to stay awake and fighting…then I blog about it. πŸ˜‰

What are you lovelies choosing to do in your lives?

~Live boundless.

24 thoughts on “Meditation Journal Entry #3: My Choice

  1. Well today I choose cereal for breakfast instead of the brownie that I really wanted. But for real, I suffer from depression, so I choose to be happy everyday… at least, I try to. πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’m choosing to blog about my thoughts and experiences, so that 1) People will know that whatever they’re going through, they aren’t going through it alone, 2) People will see subjects from a perspective they hadn’t before, and 3) So that I can better understand who I am, what I’ve been through, and who I want to be.

    Liked by 2 people

Join the conversation!

