Falling in Love.

You called my name and smiled, now I can’t breathe. I caught your gaze, you’re too beautiful. But that isn’t a problem. Love is patient, so let’s take our time, Love is kind, so let’s not part ways soon.

I can’t believe this, splotchy paintings are my gift, but I could watch you go all day. I’m spellbound. I stared at you for too long, now you’re wondering if I’m okay. You lean in, I drop my head.

“What’s up with you?” you ask with a laugh. Great question: What is up with you? I’ve known you for years now and I just can’t figure it out: When did you become so beautiful?

You lift my face to yours and my hair falls in my eyes. You brush it aside and frown, “Your forehead is freezing. Do you have a cold?”

“I….” my voice hesitates. All of the sudden, it’s almost impossible to maintain eye contact, I feel faint. Maybe I’m getting sick? My heart has always been quiet, but right now it’s beating something frightful. I’ve been numb for as long as I could remember; always shoving Cupid out the door whenever he came knocking. I think he just broke the hinges.

“Tough question isn’t it?” you smirk. Yet again, I drop my head. “Why do you keep shunning me? Is it something I said?” The guilt in your voice wraps its cold fingers around my heart and I shiver.

“I knew it. You do have a cold.” You begin to wrap your jacket around me before I can protest, I fixate my gaze on the floor and try to ignore the painfully short distance between your breath and my face. “You don’t have to be ashamed of being sick. You want me to walk you home?”

I lift my gaze to you and have to bite my lip to keep from crying. “You don’t understand, I’m in love with you.”

~Live boundless.

P.S. I’m trying to expand my horizons and write about topics I don’t usually cover. That wasn’t too cringeworthy was it? I tried really hard to vary the sentence structure because that’s something I usually struggle with it (as well as writing anything remotely romantic.) Let me know how I did and how I can improve so that I don’t sound like some doe-eyed blonde who makes songs about nothing other than her ex-boyfriends. Save for her last album. Not that I’m referring to anyone in particular.

P.P.S. For the American readers, don’t forget to vote! Find your polling place location and hours here! Go get out there and let your voice be heard!

15 thoughts on “Falling in Love.

  1. This had a lot of feeling and intimacy in it, I think you hit the nail on the head. ❀ For a minute I wasn't sure if it was fiction or actual recounting of events, which is a good thing, that's how you want it to feel.

    Meno

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll keep you in the dark and not say if it was fiction or reality, that’s up to you. πŸ™‚ I’m pleased that you like it! I wasn’t sure if it was heavy-handed or too shallow because I don’t typically write about love but the positive response I’m getting tells me that it wasn’t too shabby. Thanks for taking the time to read and comment!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No problem, I like a little mystery hehe
        I think it’s a wonderful idea to write about things you’re uncomfortable with, or just don’t write about normally, it does amazing things for your skills. I’m always looking for ways to expand my horizons like that.
        This was a pleasure to read honestly. ❀ Thanks for following by the way!

        Meno

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Why does EVERYONE Write on LOVE LOVE LOVE. Ok, Yaar, you fall in Love. But there are other Important things in this World to write about. How about writing about Important Principles in Life, Stress, Vacations, Humor ??

    Like

    1. I think you’re taking this a little bit out of context. I don’t write about love. This is my first post explicitly about love. I wanted to see how it would turn out because I’m experimenting with my writing style πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. I have been surfing online more than 3 hours today,
    yet I never found any interesting article like yours.

    It is pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers
    made good content as you did, the net will be much more
    useful than ever before.

    Like

Join the conversation!

