30 Days of Thankfulness: Day 1-11

I was invited by the lovely The Fruit Thereof to participate in this wonderful challenge yesterday and I was thrilled. Thanksgiving is a very important holiday to me personally because I live for gratitude — pretty anachronistic for a millenial I know. Also, I just love to spread around positivity so this is just me doing me.

I’m going to cover days 1 through 11 in this post as this challenge does technically go day-by-day.

img_1444

Day 1: Person

God. Without a question. Ever since I’ve started meditating, I’ve only felt closer to Him and I couldn’t ask for anything more. I’ve wanted to get in touch with Him again for years now.

Day 2: Animal

Unfortunately, I don’t have any animals in my own life. However, I’m extremely grateful for any doggies I come across because they’re just the cutest little bundles of joy ever!

Day 3: Cozy Place

img_1448

Pssh. It was 5 PM when I took this, I mean it’s obviously so dark because of Daylight Savings. Not because I woke up at 5 AM or anything.

Day 4: Favorite Snack

BBQ Corn Nuts. Even though I can’t eat them because of my braces, I’m beyond grateful for their existence. They’re DELICIOUS.

img_1455

The day that Costco starts selling these will be a glorious day indeed.

Day 5: Place

My house. It’d be really sad to not have a place to live.

Day 6: Pair of Shoes

My Doctor Martens!!! I opted for yellow laces and 8-eyes which complements my edgy personality and hairstyle perfectly. I know that I’m very privileged to have parents who can afford to buy these boots, they’re by no means cheap, and that only makes me more grateful for them.

img_1449

Edgy boots for an edgy girl with edgy hair. 😉

Day 7: Scent

The perfume my mum bought for me from Macy’s for my birthday!

img_1452

Is it just me or does all perfume smell like variations of the same scent?

Day 8: Restaurant

Sweet Tomatoes. As a lacto-vegetarian, I highkey approve of their efforts to include vegetarian meals. I’m tired of being treated like a second-class citizen at parties, potlocks, get-togethers, the list goes on! Vegetarians don’t just eat leaves, believe it or not, and we will starve if that’s all you hand us! (Also, Sweet Tomatoes’ mac and cheese is like seventh heaven.)

img_1454

Where vegetarians are treated like first-class citizens.

Day 9: Blog/Website

Aspiring Thoughts. She just makes my day every morning/afternoon with her cutesy posts which is especially welcome in such a tense world.

img_1453

This is my morning/afternoon cup of joe.

Day 10: Time of Day

5:00 A.M. I tend to go to bed early and wake up early to get homework/blog posts done — if I’m too tired at the end of the day — or just to have some alone time in darkness and silence. It’s very healing for me.

img_1451

You lovelies thought I was kidding…

Day 11: Tradition

Telling my parents good-bye before I leave for university everyday. First of all, I think it’s a good luck charm. Also, some kids don’t even see their parents all day because they work multiple jobs or whatnot. I’m very blessed to be able to do this.


Wow! I already feel better after all that gratitude venting. I think that’s another very important part of keeping things in perspective — reminding yourself of all the wonderful things in your life from time to time. I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised by what you find. 🙂 Also, learning to be satisfied with what I have brought me a lot of peace. It’s so easy to get swept up in consumerist culture and fall prey to envy and jealousy, but that’s no way to live a life. Your life is good enough too if you believe so.

~Live boundless.

7 thoughts on “30 Days of Thankfulness: Day 1-11

Join the conversation!

