30 Days of Thankfulness: Day 18


Day 18: Quote

“God gives his toughest battles to his strongest soldiers.” – Unknown

It’s probably no surprise to you lovelies that I’m thankful for this quote. For a while, it was all I had to hold onto. There was no positivity in my life other than this sentence and I carried it with me everyday. Maybe I should be grateful that I don’t have to clench onto it as tightly as I used to but I’d like to take a moment to reminisce nonetheless.

In my earlier years of high school, I used to be a junkie for inspirational quotes hoping to God I’d find the one that would open my eyes and make me feel better. Needless to say, that one quote never came. But this came pretty close. It made me think that  maybe being bullied wasn’t such a bad thing after all. Maybe it was just a test. Maybe all I had to do was not let it bother me to pass.

This quote also wound up connecting me to others like me who had struggled with their mental health and were just trying to pick up the pieces and move on with their lives. I’m beyond thankful for having met each and every one of them because they restored my hope in myself and humanity in a time where I doubted if I would even get out of bed the next morning.

This was also the time where I discovered my purpose. I didn’t want mental health to be this unspeakable issue that people are condoned for talking about or taking care of. There’s just no reason for mental health to have all those negative stigmas and misunderstandings when it’s so much more than depression, schizophrenia, and shrinks.

Mental health also surrounds the normal. How would we know what’s abnormal without first understanding what’s normal? Then there’s the emerging field of positive psychology which is basically the study of happiness. I firmly believe that if psychology was accessible to the average person, the world would be a better place for it. I’m not saying that I, alone, am going to foster that change, but that’s what I want to put my life towards.

I think I’m getting closer to that goal everyday? Let me know what you lovelies think in the comments below!

~Live boundless.

3 thoughts on “30 Days of Thankfulness: Day 18

Join the conversation!

