30 Days of Thankfulness: Day 20


Day 20: Keepsake

While thinking through this prompt, Demi Lovato’s “In Case” came to my mind.

Isn’t that what a keepsake is? Something that we hold onto in hopes of something coming back to us in the future? Maybe that’s why I’ve always had a hard time keeping keepsakes. I live without regrets and I’m always looking for ways to escape the past to live in the present. Not because I don’t like what the past held but because it doesn’t matter anymore. What’s done is done and nothing will change that.

The present, however, is full of possibility. I can spend it any way I wish with anyone I wish. Why not make the most of it? Why not squander it and bask in the miracle that is life? I’m greater than the things I’ve seen and stronger than what I’ve heard. I’m boundless. And holding onto a piece of something long gone just isn’t for me.

All in all, today I’m grateful for all of the keepsakes that I’ve gotten rid of. I don’t need those reminders weighing upon my mind where I’m headed. If I want something to be proud of to dwell on, it’ll be read at my eulogy. But for now…I have to make myself worth remembering.

~Live boundless.

2 thoughts on “30 Days of Thankfulness: Day 20

Join the conversation!

