30 Days of Thankfulness: Day 22


Day 22: Book

Have I told you lovelies before that I’m a Psychology major? In case I haven’t, that provides some context for why I’m thankful for the book I’m about to highlight. A few years back, I was chatting up one of my friends — who aspires to be a psychiatrist someday incidentally — and somehow our conversation gravitated towards personality types. She mentioned that she took an enneagram test to learn more about her personality and the results she got were massively accurate.

A bit of background on the enneagram, it’s a nine-sided shape with each point representing a different personality type…

colorful_enneagram

Image source

The important thing to remember about the 9 personality types is that they come in levels of functionality: high, average, low. That’s one of the reasons why your results will vary when you take the enneagram personality test; your mood affects the outcomes. Also, you may see bits and pieces of yourself in all of the points, but the ones that you see the most of yourself in would be considered your basic personality type. I distinctly recall that there are score ranges that help you determine which personality types represent your core traits and secondary ones. Now this variability has left the enneagram open to being criticized as a psuedoscience because it’s subject to interpretation instead of being objective. Just something to be aware of.

The book itself, The Wisdom of the Enneagram: The Complete Guide to Psychological and Spiritual Growth for the Nine Personality Types, opens with an enneagram personality test before delineating each personality type. The author also gives real world examples of people within varying levels of functionality for each type along with suggestions on how to achieve high functionality. This book is where I learned a lot about mindfulness meditation, the power of journaling, myself, and my potential. At the time I read the book, I don’t think I fully understood the weight of its content even though I did try some of the things I read in it. Looking back on it, though, I think it was definitely a huge benefactor in coming into my character. I learned that it was okay to not be okay and that other people around the planet were going through something similar, if not exactly the same, as what I was. That gave me a lot of hope knowing that I wasn’t alone.

Also, some of the personality type descriptions almost felt like something I would write; they were that thorough and accurate. I learned so much from this book and I’m sure you lovelies could too. My only recommendation is to take it with a grain of salt and an open mind because, again, it’s very open to interpretation. It’s fairly text-heavy so you can expect to spend a good amount of time on it. But it’s worth it. If you can buy it, I’d recommend that so that you can write in the margins where they leave space. Or you can just take notes in a separate journal like I did. Either way.

~Live boundless.

One thought on “30 Days of Thankfulness: Day 22

Join the conversation!

