DIY Terrarium Tutorial

As you lovelies know, I won a giveaway from A Farm Girl’s Life, a dream come true, and made a terrarium out of it. I can’t thank her enough for making my dreams come true, and now I’m here to show you lovelies how to make your very own! Enjoy!

To start with, you want to find a suitable container to serve as your terrarium. If you plan on piling on different layers of things, or you want to use a particularly tall centerpiece such as a votive candle, you’ll want to use a traditional mason jar or something similar.

Image source                                            Photo credit goes to Brit + Co.

However, if you plan on using a relatively flat centerpiece, a more circular or dome-like container would look better.

Photo credit goes to Brit + Co.

I went with the several different layers look, so I used a mason jar alternative, and the key is to fill your jar so that nothing gets crushed or steals all the attention.

This is how I placed my decorations from bottom-up:

  • Decorative rocks (you can buy some here or pillage them from your backyard)
  • Faux moss (you can buy it from here or here)
  • White sand (I pillaged it from my backyard but you can buy it from here or here)
  • Dirt (if you can’t pillage this….you can get some potting soil from here or here)
  • Clay decorations (you can buy them from Allison here or make your own using this oven bake clay)
  • Don’t forget to tie a pretty bow on top! Unless bows aren’t your thing. I’m not judging.

And there you have it! Your very own terrarium in a jar! I hope you lovelies enjoyed this tutorial and are able to do something with it. As always, if you have any questions or concerns, don’t hesitate to ask in the comments below. I’ll do my best to answer them! Do any of you lovelies plan on making some terrariums for the holiday season? Did this post inspire you? Let me know!

~Live boundless.

Have you entered my Amazon gift card giveaway? If not, make sure to enter here!

23 thoughts on “DIY Terrarium Tutorial

  1. My kids showed me a video about sealed bottle gardens and I thought it was so cool, I wanted to make my own.

    I bought the glass candy jar from the thrift store for $1, all the soil and plants (some might say weeds) are from my yard. I did buy the tiny ceramic rabbit, too. It’s not as picturesque as the ones you showed here. But it is a fun little project and I do think that pretty ones would make a lovely gift.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey there would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with?
    I’m going to start my own blog soon but I’m having a hard time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.
    P.S Apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

    Like

  3. I’ve been surfing online more than 4 hours today, yet I
    never found any interesting article like yours.
    It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my view,
    if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be a lot
    more useful than ever before.

    Like

  4. Aw, this was a very nice post. Taking a few minutes and actual effort to make a great article… but what can I say… I hesitate a whole lot and never seem to get nearly
    anything done.

    Like

Join the conversation!

