Three Day Quote Challenge: Day 1

Photo credit goes to meetmeinnevada

Hello, lovelies, I was recently nominated by the wonderful ramblingkori to participate in this challenge. I thought I’d go ahead with it to ease back into the blogging game.

The Rules:

  • 3 quotes over 3 days
  • Thank the person who nominated you
  • 3 nominees each day to complete the challenge
  • Inform the nominees

My quote for today is…

“I dwell in possibility.” – Emily Dickinson

Read that over a few times. What does it mean? To me, it’s a way of life. It’s not what if you fail? It’s what if you succeed? Possibility makes for a much stronger inspiration than fear, I’ve found.

We don’t pursue our passions and dreams because we think we’re going to fail. We chase after them because we believe that somehow, someday, we’ll make something beautiful out of them. And it’ll be worth all hard work, stress, and time it took to get there.

If we could just approach life with that level of faith and optimism, nothing would be impossible. You could do anything you wanted — you’d just be less good at some things than others. And that’s where experience comes in…knowing what’s worth your time and what isn’t. There’s no point in hanging onto something that doesn’t serve you. As much as it may hurt or worry you to let go, you’ll be much happier and freer when you embark down the path that “ignites your soul” as they say. When I entered sophomore year of high school, I set down the viola. It just wasn’t for me. My middle school orchestra teacher was the main reason I got into playing the instrument in the first place, he was just so nice and I wanted to be in his class. I didn’t have the choice to quit until the end of my freshman year in high school because of the school district boundaries.

See, my local high school was not the best school (it’s a hotspot for criminals –> they actually had a real shooter on campus on the same day that the rest of the district had a drill for on-campus shooters,) but being in orchestra gave me the chance to attend a better high school. Specifically, there was a program called “Program to Program” that allowed students in performing arts classes to transfer to high schools with similar programs for the sake of continuing in their performing art. I had to do it to get in to the better high school (which wasn’t even 10 minutes from my house, but school district boundaries are financially biased like that) and help my brother get in too.

But I digress, it’ll always serve you better to keep your mind focused on the positive.

“What you think, you become.” – Buddha

If you want to be happy, think happy. If you want to be successful, think successful. And so on. When you begin thinking one way, you start to develop plans and ideas to keep going that way. Sort of how when you want to cook something, you find a recipe, gather the ingredients, prepare them, and — before you know it — you’re cooking. Your thoughts become your actions which have become your destiny. In this case it’s only vegetable stew, but in the grand scheme of life, it could be the difference between your dream and what you settled for. “OK, I want to be a doctor so I’m going to study my hardest and kill that MCAT thing. I’ll make the MCAT graders think I write it.” As opposed to “OK, becoming a doctor is hard. I think I’ll just drop out and go to dentist school.” 😉 To those of you who got that joke, you’re awesome. To those of you offended dentists, who despise that joke, I apologize.

Instead of reinforcing your fears, reinforce your willpower. You can do it. You will find a way. There’s no question about if, there’s only when.

“Always remember…you’re  braver than you believe, stronger than you seemsmarter than you think you are, and loved more than you know.” – Christopher Robin

I’d like to point out that, so far, you’ve survived ALL of the challenges that life has thrown at you. Whatever you’re doing is working just fine. However, if it isn’t working well enough, change it!

I want to take a moment, before announcing my nominees, to admit that I didn’t think I was actually going to put 3 quotes in this post. I actually only planned on using the first one, but the other 2 just fit so well when I decided to go more in depth.

3 Nominees:

  1. Oaktown Vibes
  2. doodlessworld
  3. Aspiring Thoughts

~Live boundless.

P.S. I seriously urge all of you lovelies to try and amend one thing about your thinking over the next week and see what it brings you. If something awesome happens, drop me a line in the Contact page! If not, drop me a line and let me know why! (Also, I’d love to hear what you lovelies are planning on changing in the comments below if you don’t mind.)

7 thoughts on “Three Day Quote Challenge: Day 1

  1. I really needed that first quote right now because I’m recently struggling with this inner fear of failure with my grades despite of working hard. And it’s making me lose hope. Your other quotes were uplifting too, thanks for sharing Jasmine ❤️

    Like

    1. You’re welcome. I’m with you on the grades boat. I saw I have a C+ in one of my classes but I’m not sure if it’s the final grade or not. It’s too early to assume and all I can do at this point is wait and see because my professor doesn’t get back on campus until next Tuesday. Hoping for the best, fingers crossed!

      Liked by 1 person

Join the conversation!

