I Want to Fall in Love

Just some bored thoughts on a rainy afternoon. Don’t judge me on my laughably pure rendition of an adult relationship. 😛 

 

I want to look into someone’s eyes

And get lost

I want to hug them

And not want to let go

I want to be attracted to their magnetism.

 

I want to write a love song

And sing it to them in the kitchen

I want to kiss them at the door

Before they leave for work

I want to show them I care.

 

I want to go shopping with them

Groceries, furniture, whatever

As long as we do it together

I want to compromise on things.

 

I want to surprise them

With presents and chocolate

And the occasional request

For a piggyback ride

I want to keep them on their toes.

 

I want to fall asleep

Talking to them

Or not at all

If I’m angry

I want to make up on morning afters.

 

I want to dance with them

In the living room

Wearing PJ’s

And blasting KPOP

I want to share my penchant for random dance.

 

I want to go on walks with them

Beach, neighborhood, wherever

And lose track

Of who matched whose pace first

I want to become compatible.

 

I want to cook for them

Or have them cook for me

We can brag that our dishes are better

Even if they aren’t

I want to show off about my affinity with garlic.

 

I want to be appreciated

For all that I am

By someone other than me

I already know I’m awesome

I want them to admit it

Then get down on one knee.

 

But most of all…

I want these things

When the right time

And right person come.

 

~Live boundless.

P.S. I’ll admit that I’m beyond surprised that I wrote this poem. When the thought “I want to fall in love” first popped into my head, I shut things down. Love didn’t bring me to where I am, I told myself. I have a doctorate to earn, I insisted. I don’t need anybody, I affirmed.

Maybe love didn’t bring me to present day, maybe I do have priorities, maybe I can take care of myself…doesn’t mean I can’t daydream on a rainy afternoon. It wouldn’t be very boundless of me to deny myself something as small as that.

26 thoughts on “I Want to Fall in Love

  1. Beautifully written. I can say that I completely agree. I’m more of a focus on myself kind of person before I focus on love. I’ve always aspired to find an adult relationship but I like you said, I have a degree to work on.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. When you find a partner who truly loves you and wants to share the journey of life with you then you won’t have to ever give up who you really are. Sacrificing yourself for someone you love never works. Dream on my friend and dream of love.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. So far in my life I have fallen in Love one time and it was when I was in middle school. Right now I’m in my mid twenties and have yet to feel that way again. Life is just weird that way. Still, who knows what the future holds I suppose.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one
    and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam comments? If so how do you prevent it, any plugin or anything you can advise?

    I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any support is very much appreciated.

    Like

    1. The amount of spam I get usually isn’t that bad but, recently, I’ve been getting the exact same spam on repeat for the past few days. I’m just trashing the comment. If I were you, get in touch with Askimet (they’re the folks who run the spam filters on here) and see if they can’t help you.

      Like

Join the conversation!

