Upcycled Japanese Paper Lantern

What can I say, lovelies? I’m a geek for Japanese aesthetics.

I adore zen gardens, folding screens, paper lanterns, and the Japanese philosophy behind it all. I think there’s something very powerful to be said about a culture that appreciates the insufficiency and impermanence of human existence. It’s such a peaceful state of mind and I truly believe it allows the human spirit to flow the way it should. You can just focus on being rather than chasing perfection and trying to reverse the natural processes of aging and transforming.

At any rate, I think a lot of that went into the making of this craft. It’s not 100% professional, made-to-buy quality, but it’s definitely handmade versus homemade.


Now I know this is where I’d normally hop into the materials and steps part of the tutorial, but I’m changing up the formula a little bit just to experiment. If you’d prefer that I paste the entire tutorial in the blog post like before, let me know in the comments below. However, this time, I’ll just give you the link to the Instructables tutorial I made (it’s better organized anyway.)

http://www.instructables.com/id/Upcycled-Japanese-Paper-Lantern/

Update:Β My tutorial just got featured on Instructables! How cool is that?!

Let me know if you like this format better or how I used to write tutorials on here!

~Live boundless.

Join the conversation!

