Looking Back on 2016

I want to preface this post with the fact that my blog is only six months old at this time, so I don’t qualify for an official year-in-review post, but I wouldn’t let that stop me from composing a nice word cloud. (Extra points to folks who can tell what the word cloud is in the shape of.)

word-cloud

I thought I’d expand on the literally and metaphorically larger words to give some insight on the places I’ve been. Enjoy your trip down new-old post lane! 😉

DIY –

I published 8 tutorials this year! See them all here.

Faith –

I got woke and realized that the the only person I need to impress is God.

I realized that He was never gone when He helped me out of a life-or-death situation.

I believed in love and someday making my dreams come true.

I gave my dad the gift of faith for Christmas.

I dared to be indecisive.

I journeyed from the physical embodiment of pain and back.

Motivation –

I participated in a boatload of Three Day Quote Challenges.

I appreciated daruma dolls and committed myself to my degree.

I went down roads traveled (what up Linkin Park reference?!) and got inspired.

I reminisced on the quote that kept me going when I was at rock bottom.

Grit/Willpower –

I insisted that you can find all the answers if you persevere on your search long enough.

I stuck out one of my less successful DIY crafts and made something out of nothing.

I made the most of my failure in Finite Math and wound up stronger than ever before.

I blasted through my slight social anxiety and followed through with my tutoring session.

I re-structured this blog about 4 times this past year and, in the past week, re-vamped my Pinterest profile, created a Google+ profile, and — as of yesterday — got on Wattpad. (It was a bunch of stinking work and I still have more to do.)

Meditation –

Thanks to a unit on Japanese culture in my Philosophy class, I fostered a newfound passion for meditation as well as Zen Buddhism. I anticipate more of this in the new year.

Blogging Award –

I earned 6 blogging awards this past year. And made one of my own.

Writing –

I showed off my handwriting.

I wrote about writing.

I put my late night thoughts into writing.

I wrote about love because I’m starting to believe it isn’t dead.

I wrote about how we don’t belong anywhere.

I voiced my secret: I have too many secrets.

I wrote about getting lost and then found.

 

Acceptance – 

I accepted my body and character.

I accepted the uncertainty in my life.

I accepted my past.

I accepted my triggers.


Moving forward, I definitely see myself focusing my blog on more specific themes; namely Buddhism, positivity, and mentality. This past year has helped me build a lot of ideas and perspectives on how to live boundless, so I think I can hone in more now. I’m also very excited to see what I can get out of Wattpad! I’m looking forward to making my book thing the best it can be and so far the community seems really nice. I highly recommend checking it out as well as giving me a follow. 😉

~Live boundless.

P.S. I plan on creating a blogging event very soon as well. For those of you who don’t know what those are, they’re basically a recurring or temporary blogging challenge with a specific prompt that’s open to everyone. WordPress has a list of all the current ones here. In order for me to get on that list, my challenge has to successfully run for at least 3 months, so I’d super appreciate your support once I get the details finalized!

22 thoughts on “Looking Back on 2016

  1. I love that you took the time to celebrate all of your blogging success in this post. Your blog has evolved a great deal since I first start to follow you. “Live boundless” is an inspiring motto. Please continue to share your journey boldly. The world needs you just as you are. Happy 2017.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Amazing! Loved all your posts so far and I’m so glad I found your blog. Your posts are always such great reminders about life and always make me think and get me a little more happy. Thank you for such an awesome blog and I thinka blogging event would be awesome!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I’m glad my posts helped you to accept your body.

    Your posts have helped me in so many ways, too.

    Finding your blog is one of the highlights of my 2016.

    Thank you for everything you’re doing, and I will do what I can to help you continue to do it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congrats on six months! I’m at seven myself : )
    I highly suggest reading the teachings of Buddha if you haven’t already, it seriously changed my life personally. I know it can be a little hard to understand at times, but once you do….

    Meno<3

    Liked by 1 person

Join the conversation!

