Hello 2017!

It’s only the third day of the New Year and times are already a-changin’!

For the first time in my life…I went grocery shopping all by myself! I know this probably sounds trivial to those of you adults who have been grocery shopping alone for years now, but it was one heck of a first-time experience!

Just imagine a bunch of middle-aged people calmly strolling around with their carts, meanwhile, an extremely focused teenager who thinks she knows what she’s doing flits from place to place with a reusable bag over forearm.

Did I mention that I also had no idea what a zucchini looks like? Thank God for Google Images. I’m not sure how I would have asked the store associate “Excuse me, sir, which one of these green things is zucchini?”

It also didn’t help things that my mum only wanted one zucchini. I felt like the destroyer of planet Earth for wasting so much plastic but, at the same time, I had the feeling that I may have been overthinking things just a little. OK maybe a lot.

Honestly, I have no idea how my dad manages to shop for groceries so efficiently. I must have walked up and down the produce aisle at least 4 times looking for all the ingredients my family and I needed. Once more when I almost forgot to grab some cilantro.

Also, I had to go back to the store later because I couldn’t find canned chickpeas the first time. (Bright side is I dared myself to use self check-out and succeeded!)


Awkward lifestyle and overthinking aside, though, new beginnings are abound. I’m at 323 followers, I tried my hand at making chaat (Indian street food,) I discovered a kickass KPOP idol named Yezi, my family was finally freed from our DIRECTV receiver so we cut our cable and switched to Hulu, (guess who finally gets to watch anime?) and I helped my dad clean up his resume!

I’m beyond excited to see what 2017 has to offer, aside from Donald Trump’s presidency. There’s no doubt in my mind that I’ll achieve each and every one of my New Year’s resolutions (fix my relationships with my brother and mum, get back in shape, earn better grades.) I’m a strong believer in redemption because my whole existence is one.

I’m not afraid or ashamed to fall down then rise up. There’s so much pressure on us to be perfect and get everything done right the first time, but we all know that just isn’t a realistic way of life. Mistakes happen, life happens, so we have to be patient and accept that things may not go as planned at first.

“You may have to  fight the battle more than once to win it.” – Margaret Thatcher

Life is sort of like an ongoing war. Sometimes there are brief skirmishes; other times a full-out battle. We don’t win them all, but the end result hinges on the war as a whole.

Then, every once in a while, one war ends only for another to begin. That’s what happens when people are reborn; when they make drastic changes to their life or their life changes drastically. Remember that there’s a difference between the two.


As for my resolutions, I’ll definitely keep you lovelies in the loop on how things are going –> I’m toying with the idea of starting an exercise diary, but I’m not sure yet. My blogging event is going to go live this Friday so stay tuned for that! I think you’ll like it very much and I’d really appreciate your support in making it successful.

~Live boundless.

P.S. What battles are you waging right now?

54 thoughts on “Hello 2017!

  1. I think successful people are those who have mastered failures.

    There’s so many things I love about this post. I think it’s so cute that you went grocery shopping yourself. I can relate. I had a piece of paper with things listed down on it.

    Also, congratulations on your followers. I’m sure there are more to come.

    I also like that your resolutions include restoring relationships and healthy living. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. “I also had no idea what a zuccini looks like” I love that lol!! I can compare to that. When I first moved out on my own and I went full grocery shopping for myslef I felt pretty lost haha. I also agree with how life doesn’t always pan out the exact way you want it to. All you can do is stick your routine, work hard, and fight for it, and hope things all worked out in the way you planned.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What battles am I fighting right now?

    My dad is recovering from minor surgery, so I’m taking care of him right now.
    It snowed recently, so ice is keeping me confined to my home.
    And I’m going to be filling out an application for my local library today.

    I’m fighting a lot of battles but, with God’s help, I’ll win them all. I’ve just got to remember that every day is a gift, and to make the most of each gift.

    Thank you for always encouraging me to Live Boundless. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. First time I went grocery shopping alone, I ended up buying lots of things, except the ones that I needed to. 🙂 I still don’t know what zuccini looks like, need to google that
    And getting to watch anime again on tv….that’s an awesome start to year… I envy you so much 😦
    Have a nice year dear 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Going for grocery shopping for the first time is really very irritating.Hats off to my mom who does it so well each time.
    Must say,no matter whichever topic you take up for blogging,you end up turning insightful.Thanks for sharing your wisdom.:)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. There is always the FIRST TIME for everything, be it grocery shopping.
    I am really proud to overcome my fear, fear of going to gym alone. It might sound not a big deal, but it really was, for me. I, who have never been to gym before in my twenty two years of life, going now, that too alone, was a big challenge. In fact, when I was about to enter in the gym, a thought – ‘let us go back’ kept on pulling me backwards, but Hurrah! I entered and yeah, did some exercises too. Though now it’s been two days that I haven’t gone there, but that is due to laziness, not because of fear.
    So no matter how trivial things might sound, when it’s the first time, it is always the hardest, and it is important to overcome that fear. Just as you implied. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Join the conversation!

