How to Grow Your Blog: My Top 5 Blogging Tips for Newbies

I won’t tell you to “write good blog posts” because I think it’s been said so much that it goes without saying now. Use Grammarly for writing conventions, do use WordPress’ built-in spell-checker, and give your post a dry read out loud before you hit Publish.

What I will give you are 5 pointers, ordered in importance, that I actually use to grow my blog.

Make your content personal. I know this can be intimidating, but it’s the only way to stand out. The blogosphere is a small world but a giant one at the same time. If you want to guarantee that your writing will sound like nobody else’s, you have to use your unique voice. 

Chances are, you’ve read something that sounds like it came straight from the author’s soul. You don’t just read the story; you feel what the authors feels, see what they see, and so on. That authenticity can’t be replicated.

I’ve got an example right here of a blogger who capitalizes on her story and voice. She’s one of the bravest women I know on here and I’m proud to Follow her. Tell the stories you’re afraid to tell and tell them in a way that only you can. 

Use pretty pictures. Pictures catch people attention, save character count on Twitter, make or break Pins, and tell a story. You MUST use them. If you can’t take your own photos, free stock photo websites come to the rescue! Pexels and Pixabay are two completely free websites with a gazillion photos on just about anything, and the best thing is they generally don’t require any attribution! (Just double-check to make sure.)

Now I know what you’re thinking….if just anyone can use Pexels or Pixabay, won’t my photos look like everyone else’s? Not if you use CanvaCanva is a free, photo-editing software designed specifically for bloggers, writers, and social media gurus. Meaning it has templates like “Facebook Post” or “Pinterest Graphic.” It’s super easy AND FREE to use, so you should all go sign up for an account today! (Below are some of the images I created using Canva.)

Find your niche. It’s OK if you don’t have a theme straight off the bat, but the sooner you can solidify your “brand,” the better.

Your content should have a purpose and direction. I aspire to teach people how to reach their full potential, hence “live boundless,” and my posts accordingly revolve around the topics of mindfulness, perseverance, mental health and wellness, and such. 

It’s OK to try something new every now and then to surprise your followers and show breadth. Recently, I wrote a political post that connected back to mindfulness.

People should know what to expect as soon as they get to your homepage. It’s not just a landing page; it’s the face of your blog. What does your homepage say about you? I purposely use burnt sienna, instead of white, on my blog’s homepage because I think it represents rebirth, boundlessness, tranquility, and mindfulness (all major themes in my writing) very well. Don’t be afraid to change up themes as your blog grows and evolves!

The images you use should be similar tones, for example, I use a lot of bright images. I don’t use dark or black images because my whole blog is based around positivity.

Interact with other bloggers. We’re all in this together and, ultimately, your Followers will be other bloggers. That means…

Respond to every comment on your blog...unless you’re being harassed, threatened, or spammed. Feel free to trash those comments and blacklist the user if necessary.

Comment on other people’s blogs. Anyone can hit Like for days, but a constructive comment means that you read and understood what the blogger had to say. I know it takes time out of your social media binges, but I assure you it’s worth it. You foster much stronger relationships with other bloggers when you actually talk to them, shocking thought I know, and that effect isn’t lost on them.

Participate in meet-and-greets/linky parties. Not only are these opportunities for free advertising πŸ˜‰ you get to meet bloggers inside/outside your niche…sometimes in the thousands depending on who the host is.

Dream Big, Dream Often hosts regular meet-and-greets. Also, he’s just straight-up inspirational, so I’d recommend Following him regardless.

The Blogger’s Lifestyle hosts linky parties under the name”Blogger’s Pit Stop” and they have tons of resources on blogging amongst other things so they deserve a Follow too.

MakeItUltra has the largest blog promotion post I’ve ever seen in all my time on here. There are 1000+ comments on it and it’s STILL circulating a year later. I’d recommend working through this one slowly….because it gets overwhelming pretty quickly. Also, if health and wellness are your thing — mental or physical — you should seriously consider submitting to this site.

In addition to a dedicated Meet and Greet Page, HarsH ReaLiTy often showcases newbie bloggers and has a witty sense of humor.

Be patient. It takes time for your search engine ranking to grow in Google, it takes time for people to stumble across your blog (literally and metaphorically,) and nobody likes to see a thousand posts from the same person in the same day.

If you stay committed and keep experimenting, eventually you’ll find your groove and it’s only uphill from there. I don’t know the exact statistic, but a crazy high percentage of blogs are abandoned in the first few months because folks simply give up on them. Blogging isn’t easy or profitable. Definitely not in the beginning.

However, I like to think of it this way: your blog only grows as quickly as you allow it. In all honesty, I don’t think I’d be comfortable at all with exploding social media, income, and comments threads. I’m not ready for that level of exposure. Still, I grow stronger by the day. I mean just a couple weeks ago I didn’t dare set foot in Twitter, but now I’m figuring out how their buttons work. So just roll with it!


I hope these tips were helpful! I purposely didn’t touch on social media, SEO, and all that shiny stuff because 1) I’m still figuring that stuff out for myself and 2) You should master these WordPress skills first. It won’t matter how many times you get Googled or how many times you schedule your Tweets if nobody reads your content.

That being said, I do see myself continuing this blogging tips thing as a series as I grow and learn more things. Sharing is caring after all! If you have any questions about anything, hit me up in the comments below, and I’ll answer to the best of my ability.

I’m including a neat infographic below (made with Canva) to summarize the post. Don’t forget to share it with your friends!

5 ways you can grow your.jpg

~Live boundless.

110 thoughts on “How to Grow Your Blog: My Top 5 Blogging Tips for Newbies

  1. Yes, I agree with your post. I wrote kind of a similar post recently based on my personal experience. I wanted to say that the tips you gave in your post I put them to use in my game plan for my blog. Working on them everyday. Thanks for sharing your tips.

    Liked by 1 person

Join the conversation!

