Managing My Summertime Sadness

Remember how I told you lovelies that Winter is life for me? Part of that stems from my hatred for Summer. Please bear with me while I explain…

All of the trauma I experienced in my life happened underneath the sun. Somehow, everything always seemed to die down in the cloudy months. Along with that, I reveled in the rain and cold weather because I felt more connected to it. For once, the world was as dark and sad as I was. Side note: Nowadays, I love the rain because I believe that water is life and to walk around in it is cleansing.

That’s why Summer is basically a giant trigger for me. My concentration literally goes out the window, I’m even more irritable than usual, and — frankly — I feel like I’m dying inside. And I’ve had enough.

I’m taking my life back today. Einstein always said it was insanity to keep doing the same thing and expect different results, so I’m changing up my approach and getting through this. Here’s how:

  1. A spankin’ pair of sunnies

    What goes on your head and fools you into thinking it’s darker than it actually is? That’s right, sunglasses! I remember when I went to Hawaii last year, I was under the sun 95% of the time and it didn’t bother me. (And not just because of the whole island paradise thing.) Just for kicks, I decided to wear sunglasses as long as I could, wherever I could, and it was so therapeutic for me.

  2. Leaning on my support system

    One of the positives of my dad being laid off is that it’s brought him and me much closer together. I feel like I can finally talk to him about my emotional problems without the fear of being judged or misunderstood. Mostly anyways. On top of that, I have some lovely friends who are just a phone call away. And in some cases 15 minutes away. If I’m having a hard time, I know I can count on them to listen.

  3. Remembering where I am

    I’m not a bully victim anymore. I’m not a self-harmer anymore. I’m not paralyzed anymore. I’m not numb anymore. I’m not sad anymore. I’m empowered. I’m two years clean. I’m awake. I’m aware. I love where I’m in life and I’m happy with myselfAnd I will repeat these affirmations to myself as many times as it takes to change my mentality.

  4. Staying active

    Nothing drains my energy like the sunlight. (This is what I meant by feeling like I’m dying inside.) It’s tempting to retreat into my room and surf the Internet endlessly or just lay in bed, but that’s numbing and rather depressing. This season, I’ll stay outside of my bedroom as much as possible and keep myself occupied. I do have a New Year’s resolution that I’m falling behind on after all.

  5. Keeping positive

    Recently on Twitter, I started a “Happiness Jar” Moment where I’m storing all the tidbits of joy and inspiration in my life/across the Internet. That along with my usual positive thinking is going to be a lifesaver for sure.

It’s kind of crazy, but I’m actually looking forward to facing off against my summertime sadness. Maybe it’s just because I know I’m going to win. *mic drop*

~Live boundless.

25 thoughts on “Managing My Summertime Sadness

  1. 2 years clean. No longer bullied. No longer numb. No longer paralysed.

    You have come a really long way. I look up to you, you courageous soul. Massive respect and admiration.

    Yes girl, gram them sunnies to beat the heat. I HATE THE HEAT AS WELL. I tend to feel really irritable during the summer. So you’re not alone. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yay! I’m so happy to hear how well you’re doing! 🙂

    I’m here if you ever need someone to talk to, too, and I’m praying for you.

    Thank you for being a part of my life. You continue to inspire me to stay positive and keep trying to be my best self. This is the kind of post I needed to read today.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this. It is fantastic that you realize that you are not the person you used to be. Now you have many, many tools to use when times are challenging. I relate. #3 reminded me of the affirmations that I read when I need to remember that I am not longer the person I was in my past. You are set up for success!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s good to know you’re taking the initiative to positively approach the sadness that summer brings you. That’s a healthy way of coping. I’m happy that you have your dad that you can always talk to and your friends…although it’s also sometimes nice to be just alone with yourself and contemplate. I sincerely hope you feel better each passing time ☺ God bless!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I really appreciate this post. I am JUST home from therapy and was pondering why the summer months were so hard for me depression wise. And I read your blog and realized. Duh, I was a waterskiier. I was abused by my coach. Summer time. Ugh. So simple and yet it took your blog to help me figure it out. So thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thank you for your post! All my life people have thought I was strange because the summer time mad me so miserable. I sit in doors with curtains closed during the summer. I am actually very red and burn straight away. Also thank you for stating that summer brings bad memories back for you. I often have summer time depression because I remember summers where I had no friends and never went out and everybody was always having a good time apart from me.
    Most people think SAD is actually caused by the winter time but times it comes in reverse! Thank you for your post and raising awareness and well done on getting better x

    Liked by 1 person

Join the conversation!

