An Open Letter To The Monster from My Past

Let me make something clear: you don’t control me anymore. My choices are mine to make alone, my head has no room for you, and I won’t give up anything for you anymore. I don’t care if you just fell from hell, no scratch that I do care, now I get to burn you myself. Don’t worry, I’ll give you a proper burial. I have honor unlike you.

You played me like I was some instrument, you pulled my strings left and right, and made me think you were the only way. Well, guess what, you were wrong.

You kept me away from my family, distant from my friends, and alone in a crowd to “protect me,” but you were the only person I needed saving from.

You talked me out of everything because surely the pain of failing was worse than the numbness of not trying at all. As it seems, I’m okay with falling over face-first, but never for you.

You taught me how to mask my feelings instead of work my way to healing. Now I’m wrapping up the last of the damage you caused.

I never needed you in my life; I was just too weak to lock the door when you came. Next thing I knew, you tossed the key and trapped me in there with you.

That’s all it was; a slow descent into darkness with an even darker soul by my side. I’ve had my fun, but don’t even think for a second it’s happening again.

I’ve changed, you haven’t. In fact, I’m stronger than you could hope to be. Your words mean nothing to me. Your claws don’t even nick my skin. You best leave while you can.

I’m not you, and you’re not me. I’m here to stay, but you have to go.

~Live boundless.

TWITTER | PINTEREST | BLOGLOVIN’ | INSTAGRAM

P.S. You saw that right. I’m on Instagram now. And I have no idea how it works! (But I did manage to put up a picture.)

17 thoughts on “An Open Letter To The Monster from My Past

  1. As a phoenix, you burned the monster to ashes with your fiery wings.

    Glad to hear you’re doing better. I know this might sound corny, but it’s true: It’s an honor to follow you on your journey.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. “Let me make something clear: you don’t control me anymore. My choices are mine to make alone, my head has no room for you, and I won’t give up anything for you anymore.” Powerful and moving. Thanks for sharing this.

    I got on to Instagram a few years back and didn’t do anything with it. I just don’t take pictures of my food. But recently I got the hang of it and it’s fairly interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

Join the conversation!

