Spring Revival

I’m not huge on the metaphor of winter and spring as death and rebirth, but I can’t exactly call the events of this past week a coincidence.

For starters, I got a B in Finite Math! Remember that course I dropped in the cusp of Winter because I was failing it? I nailed it in the bosom of Spring. My two main takeaways from this are:

Anything worth having is going to be hard. - Kim Harrison

The payoff is monumental not only in your life, but in your soul. Struggle breeds strength, so it isn’t something to be afraid of. You don’t know how strong you are until it’s the only thing you can do and — trust me — you lovelies are all much stronger than you know. Other than empathy, I think our ability to adapt is what makes us human. Our history is full of people rising up despite the odds and they’re really not much different than you and me.

Mindset is definitely key because our brain has a way of making our thoughts into our reality, so you have to at least believe that you can. (I’d argue that you’re halfway to your goal once you do this.) I remember when I took one of my math tests, I was really freaked out and I didn’t perform as well. I made a bunch of silly mistakes. On the next test, I calmed myself down and did much better. While it was different material, I could feel my brain functioning better. Try thinking positively for yourself sometime! See if it makes a difference for you, I challenge you.

failureleadstosucessWhen I dropped Finite Math, I was hopeless. I lost all faith in my math capabilities and I started wondering if this university thing really was for me. Maybe I just wasn’t cut out for it after all, I figured. I mean I practically got in just because of my personal statement (for those in the U.K., this is a personal essay that we submit when we apply to college) not because of my average GPA and SAT (college entrance exam) scores.

Nevertheless, I persisted. (Why, yes, this is a reference to Chelsea Clinton’s book.) I studied 3 times as hard on every exam, went through the homework problems over and over again, and I didn’t stop asking questions until I understood. Now I have a B to show for it. Without that little wake-up call, I know I wouldn’t have been as inspired and confident as I am now. God works in mysterious ways….

While we’re still on the topic of persistence and hard work, I’d like to announce that MY DAD GOT A JOB OFFER! This little gift I made him back when I first started this blog will soon be on his desk!

FullSizeRender (4)
“May you rise out like a lotus of the mud of employment, dad.” –> Finally came true!!

Also, I landed an interview for my first ever summer job/job in general. It’s nowhere near as complicated as what my dad’s doing 😄 I’d be working as a customer service associate while my dad’s in high tech, but I feel like it could be a really good thing for me. As you lovelies know, I’m very shy, and I think this job may help me become more confident around people. Either that or I’ll embarrass the crap out of myself for a living. 😉

On a final note, I finally got 101 Pinterest followers! I honestly didn’t think I’d be able to get so many without paying for BoardBooster or joining 1000 Tailwind tribes, but I did! Pretty cool, huh? Also, if you’re not following me on Pinterest…you can do so here. 😉

~Live boundless.

P.S. QUICK SURVEY. Please answer in the comments below. Should I start blogging about college? I found some awesome printables around the Internet and I have study tips!

P.P.S. This one’s more of a long shot, but are any of you lovelies willing to make me a blog banner/give me advice on how to make one? Anything is appreciated. Please talk to me in the comments below or hit me up on the Contact form.

32 thoughts on “Spring Revival

  1. Adaptability truly can be an asset when necessary.

    As for blogging about college, if writing about your experiences can offer some benefit through additional perspective then I say go for it.

    Congratulations on your job acquisitions.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hey hey, I see there is cause for celebration 🎊. Congrats to both you and your dad. I think the job would actually help your shyness and help gain other skills as well so all the best. I have no idea how to make a blog banner, but as for the question, this is your blog after all, so I think you can write whatever you want 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think it’d be very neat to have you write about college! It would be different and eye opening for younger and older readers. Congratulations by the way that makes me sooo happy:)

    Liked by 1 person

Join the conversation!

