NaJoWriMo April Days 1-4

My meditation journal

First of all, I bet some of you lovelies are wondering what NaJoWriMo even is. (I’m sure you’re familiar with NaNoWriMo or even NaPoWriMo, but this is neither of those things.) NaJoWriMo is a 30-day journaling challenge, and the idea is to get you to develop a journal-writing habit. I’ve fallen out of journaling and I really wanted to get back into it, so I decided to sign up for it this month.

For the next 26 days, I’ll be sharing my responses to the prompts on here, and I encourage you lovelies to get involved too! Check out @NaJoWriMo for all the details!

Day 1: Brainstorm a personal renewal list

  • Worry less about pride
  • Spend less time on Twitter
  • Drink more water
  • Talk to students more
  • Wash my face in the evenings
  • Swear less
  • Stop imagining sad scenarios (unless they’re good book material)
  • Fear less and write more
  • Meditate more
  • Practice more mindfulness

Day 2: How are you taking care of yourself?

  • I’m drinking more water
  • I’m exercising for at least 20 minutes every weekday
  • I’m trying to unplug
  • I’m getting enough sleep
  • I’m reaching out to friends and family on a regular basis

Day 3: What have you recently learned?

University bookstores are dodgy and scary as heck. My Statistics teacher was explaining to the class how there’s two versions of the required textbook: a custom version and the regular version. (The bookstore couldn’t have worded it more ambiguously, I swear.) The custom version just has a few chapters that we won’t cover in class removed. Yet it’s double the price of the regular version. My teacher used to send out an email about this to her students, but somehow the bookstore caught wind of it and made her stop.

“I had an Outlook reminder and everything to email you guys but I can’t because the bookstore will arrest me,” my teacher whined. I hope to God she was at least half-joking.

Day 4: What has been your life’s biggest or smallest makeover?

Learning to love myself has been my life’s biggest makeover. It’s brought so many positive things over the years and I don’t know where I’d be otherwise. A smaller makeover would be moving my desk and chair into the living room. I used to have them in my bedroom, but it was just too cramped and my family doesn’t usually come into the living room until late evening, so I can do my homework uninterrupted for the most part.

~Live boundless.

P.S. You lovelies are my biggest accountability buddy, so I’m going to preemptively tell you that I have something big (and scary) coming up for this blog. It doesn’t involve monetization, but it does involve branding and a whole lot of passion.

14 thoughts on “NaJoWriMo April Days 1-4

  1. I’ve been journaling since the death of my brother a few weeks ago. Trying to revive him has stuck in my mind. I plan to blog a few of the humorous ones, but won’t do a daily thing. It can be dark!

    Like

    • I’m sorry about that. God bless you and your brother. Darkness isn’t a bad thing! I put dark stuff on my blog all the time because it’s a part of who I am 🙂 but I understand if you’re not comfortable sharing that.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a great idea! I’m currently doing the 30 Day Mental Cleanse Challenge and I’m not sure I can take on another 30 day challenge right now, but I might just save this and do it for myself at a later point! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “I have something big (and scary) coming up for this blog. It doesn’t involve monetization, but it does involve branding and a whole lot of passion.”

    Sounds exciting!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I find writing on my journal really helpful. It serves as a catharsis and at the same time gives you opportunity to reflect on things more. I’m sure you’ll enjoy participating on it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Join the conversation!

