Live Without Regrets

Re-publishing this thing because the date got all messed up. Sawy!

img_2897

Regrets are a really negative thing for me. I don’t think there’s anything good that can come from picking apart past choices and wishing you didn’t make them. Instead of figuring out how to improve for next time, you learn not to trust your judgment.

There was a time when I lived in regret. I regretted my entire childhood; that I spent so many years in silence, and based my self-esteem on what others thought of me. During that time, I had no chance of growing from my experiences. 

Growth is a positive force, and I’ve never been able to muster it from something negative. This is why I live without regrets. I see my mistakes as lessons to be learned from or, at the very least, an unplanned and unpleasant destination I won’t return to anytime soon.

Only then was there hope for me to grow. And grow I did. I learned to be my advocate first and foremost, I learned that other people’s thoughts don’t control my own, I learned that different isn’t inferior, and many more lessons you’ll no doubt hear about throughout this series.

I challenge you lovelies to turn a regret into a lesson. Bonus points if you write a blog post about it, and I can’t guarantee that I won’t nominate it for the Boundless Challenge. (Forgive my double negative.)

Meditation Journal

NaJoWriMo Day 11: Make a list of small changes you would like to achieve this month.

  • Figure out where I’m going with my book
  • Read more books
  • Wash my face in the evenings (yes, this one again)
  • Talk to more people

NaJoWriMo Day 12: What things do you most value in your life?

  1. Learning a new skill.
    1. This one gets a 3. Learning new skills is always helpful for me,
  2. Reconnecting with a former friend or family member.
    1. This one gets a 4. I ended up re-connecting with a lot of my friends from high school as an unexpected side effect of making an Insta account. I can’t exactly say I’m not grateful.
  3. Finding a new job.
    1. This one also gets a 3. I want to make some money over the summer, so 100% of my income doesn’t come from taking online surveys for gift cards. Speaking of which, I’m still waiting to hear back from the department store I interviewed at. Apparently they’ve had a lot of applications recently, so they’re working through a backlog.
  4. Quitting a bad habit.
    1. This one gets a 5. I’m working through my pride in a really big way right now, and I’m excited to see where it takes me. (You lovelies can bet your lives that I’m writing a blog post about it next week.)
  5. Feeling less stressful.
    1. This one gets a 3 because I’m not stressed out right now, and I don’t plan for the future that much. Although, I think my preparations for finals could use a lot of revising. (Usually it ends with my mental health going down in flames and a lot of crying. That doesn’t count all of the crazy thoughts I have.)
  6. Finding a way to relax more.
    1. This one is a 2 because I have no chill and no reason to change it.
  7. Start or build a savings account.
    1. I already have a checking account funded by my dad. (It’s for gas and groceries. Boring I know.) 😉
  8. Developing a positive habit.
    1. This one’s a 5 because positivity is my jam! I love finding new ways to look at everything that’s good in life.
  9. Changing my relationship with someone.
    1. This one’s a 4 because I’m working on my relationship with my bro and mum. Major WIP but I know I can fix our bonds.
  10. Cook a new meal. 
    1. This one’s a 4 because I loooove cooking!

~Live boundless.

11 thoughts on “Live Without Regrets

  1. Thanks for visiting my blog. I loved this post. I feel by this post, you and I have lived similar issues. I wrote my book Words We Carry based on my experiences growing myself from a non existent self esteem. Reborn is a great description. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am glad to know that you can put your past mistakes behind you.

    I have never really regretted anything in my past. One reason is that all of it (the good and the bad) has gone into who I am. So, while my life is not prefect, I do feel that I am in a good place. Even when I was depressed, I did not regret my past. Probably because I felt so crappy in the present, that I did not care about the past. I also think I am a pretty present type of person; I seem to be able to live in the moment most of the time.

    I do think that being goal directed it very helpful though. When setting goals it is important to be concrete with steps, a timeline, reasons, and accountability. There was a time when I was terrified of setting goals. I thought it put me under too much stress, and what was the use anyway because I rarely accomplished any.

    Good luck in your boundless challenge; it sounds like you are doing well.

    Like

Join the conversation!

